DIRECTOR'S STATEMENT
 
Haunting Villisca For me, Villisca's story hit immediately with the sheer force of its potential. It seemed as though its form and being were perfectly bound up: history's powerful jaws seemed specially made for the task of hiding the truth and did what they were designed to do: clamp shut around the facts. And everyone else is left to the sad and exhilarating task of making the various fables.

Villisca landed not so much in my heart, but rather in that mysterious spot between the shoulder blades, the one that always itches and seems never to be within reach of being scratched. But one must try, or go mad.

And so, with the generous and skilled assistance of a great many people, I did the only thing I knew how to do, which was make a movie out of the strange contortions through which I was moving.

Perhaps all I really wanted was one blessed night where I wasn't up and milling about, looking for something - anything - to put the thing to rest.

"Please God just give me One Good Scratch."

James Serpento

About the filmmakers:

Kimberly Busbee Kimberly BUSBEE (Producer, Co-Writer Story and Screenplay; Cast: Woman of Visions) owns AriesWorks Entertainment where she teaches acting, produces plays and films and works as a casting director and makeup artist. She also acts on stage and screen, does voice-over work and writes.

In addition to co-writing the feature film, Haunting Villisca, Kimberly co-wrote (with Robin Jons) It’s All Up to You, a musical which successfully toured across the Midwest. She also team wrote a short film, The Bottle, for Harvest Moon Pictures (which won an award through Showcase Iowa) and writes sketch material for the comedy troupe, Twisted Tragedy which she directs.

Kimberly co-founded and serves as Festival Director for the international Wild Rose Independent Film Festival, now in its 6th year. She also is on the Iowa Arts Council and Metro Arts teaching rosters. She taught at Edmund's Academy of Fine Arts, the Des Moines Playhouse, and at The Donna Reed Festival, where she worked alongside industry pros including Dee Wallace Stone (E.T.), director Michael Rhodes (Star Trek), actress/director Joan Darling (The Mary Tyler Moore Show), Meryl O’Laughlin, (former Casting Director for The Young and the Restless) and the late Kathleen Freeman (The Blues Brothers and Broadway’s The Full Monty.)

Most recently, Kimberly wrote, produced and directed the TV Pilot, Opened Doors: Glimpses from the Spirit World.

James Serpento James SERPENTO (Co-Screenwriter, Director, Editor; Cast: David Salt) has been an actor, director and writer for stage and screen for more than twenty years, with hundreds of productions of all sizes to his credit.

Haunting Villisca is James' ninth foray into film directing. Other projects include AriesWorks Entertainment's award-winning A Quiet Evening Home, The Next Table, Frieze and The Yoofo Club, all of which were produced by Kimberly Busbee and for all of which James also provided the screenplays.

Most of his more than 40 original plays have been produced: in New York (Night Class and Of Weddings and Divorces); Los Angeles (On the El Nighttimes); and in his favorite city of Chicago (Private Passage [both world premiere and revival], A Danse for My Sisterlie, and revival of On the El Nighttimes.) The Chicago Directors Festival production of James' Pasticcio, directed by Robert Teverbaugh, was cited by Susan Pellowe of Plays International as "[among] the best I caught …hilarious and sad at once."
 

 

 
© 2008 Sneak Eye Pictures

ERKLÄRUNG DES REGISSEURS
 
Haunting Villisca Mich hat die Villisca-Geschichte mit der vollen Wucht ihrer Möglichkeiten getroffen. In ihr schienen Form und Sein perfekt miteinander verbunden: der Schatten der Geschichte schien wie gemacht dafür, die Wahrheit zu verstecken, und genau das passierte: die Fakten sind für niemanden zugänglich. Jedem bleibt die traurige und berauschende Aufgabe selbst überlassen, daraus die verschiedensten Mythen zu spinnen.

Villisca hat nicht nur in meinem Herzen einen Platz gefunden, sondern viel eher, einen unerreichbaren Platz zwischen meinen Schulterblättern eingenommen, der manchmal juckt, aber zum Kratzen nicht erreicht werden kann. Man muß es versuchen oder es besteht die Gefahr verrückt zu werden.

Und so, mit der großzügigen und sachkundigen Hilfe von einer großen Anzahl von Menschen, habe ich das Einzige gemacht, was ich wirklich kann, einen Film - aus all diesen eigenartigen Windungen, die ich durchlaufen bin.

Vielleicht wollte ich auch nur eine gute Nacht, wo ich nicht wach umherlaufen muß, auf der Suche nach etwas - irgendetwas - um die ganze Sache auf sich beruhen lassen zu können.

"Bitte lieber Gott, kratz nur einmal an der richtigen Stelle."

James Serpento

Über die Filmemacher:

Kimberly Busbee Kimberly BUSBEE (Produzentin, Co-Autor der Geschichte und des Drehbuchs; Rolle: Woman of Visions) ist die Inhaberin von AriesWorks Entertainment, wo sie Schauspiel unterrichtet, Theaterstücke und Filme produziert und als Besetzungschefin und Maskenbildnerin arbeitet. Außerdem ist Theater- und Filmschauspielerin, schreibt und arbeitet als Off-Stimme.

Zusätzlich zum Spielfilm Haunting Villisca, war Kimberly auch Co-Autorin (mit Robin Jons) bei It's All Up to You, einem Musical, das erfolgreich durch den mittleren Westen der USA getourt ist. Sie war auch im Team, das den Kurzfilm The Bottle für Harvest Moon Pictures (hat beim Iowa Showcase einen Preis gewonnen) geschrieben hat und schreibt Sketches für die Komödientheatergruppe Twisted Tragedy, bei der sie auch Regie führt.

Kimberly ist Mitbegründerin und Festivaldirektorin des internationalen Wild Rose Independent Film Festival, das 2008 bereits zum 6. Mal stattfindet. Sie ist Mitglied des Iowa Arts Council und der Metro Arts Lehrervereinigung. Sie hat an der Edmund's Academie of Fine Arts, im Des Moines Playhouse und beim Donna Reed Festival unterrichtet, wo sie zusammen mit Branchenprofis wie Dee Wallace Stone (E. T.), Regisseur Michael Rhodes (Star Trek), Schauspielerin/Regisseurin Joan Darling (The Mary Tyler Moore Show), Meryl O’Laughlin, (ehemalige Besetzungschefin von The Young and the Restless) der verstorbenen Kathleen Freeman (The Blues Brothers und Broadways The Full Monty) zusammengearbeitet hat.

Zuletzt hat Kimberly eine Pilotsendung für das Fernsehen geschrieben, produziert und Regie geführt: Opened Doors: Glimpses from the Spirit World.

James Serpento James SERPENTO (Co-Drehbuchautor, Regisseur, Cutter; Rolle: David Salt) ist seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren Schauspieler, Regisseur und Drehbuch- und Bühnenautor und kann hunderte Produktionen in sämtlichen Größen zu seinen Erfolgen zählen.

Haunting Villisca ist James' neunter Ausflug in das Regisseurfach. Andere Projekte umfassen die preisgekrönten Werke A Quiet Evening Home, The Next Table, Frieze and the Yoofo Club von AriesWorks Entertainment, die alle von Kimberly Busbee produziert wurden und für die James auch die Drehbücher geschrieben hat.

Die meisten seiner mehr als 40 Bühnenstücke wurden aufgeführt: in New York (Night Class and Of Weddings and Divorces); Los Angeles (On the El Nighttimes); und in seiner Lieblingsstadt Chicago (Private Passage [sowohl Uraufführungs als auch als Neuinszenierung], A Danse for My Sisterlie, und die Neuinszenierung von On the El Nighttimes). James' Pasticcio Produktion für das Chicago Directors Festival production, unter der Regie von Robert Teverbaugh, wurde von Susan Pellowe von Plays International als "[unter] den besten, die ich je gesehen habe … wahnsinnig komisch und traurig zugleich" bezeichnet.
 

 

 
© 2008 Sneak Eye Pictures